
Defensive Guidelines: When NOT to follow them    Steve Overholt 

Rule: When a play has 0% chance of success, make a different play  Last revised: Oct 2 21 

Guideline: 3rd hand high 

 Do Not Play 3rd hand high when it cannot create a winner for your side. 

 Partner leads a high spot = 8; dummy has QJTxx plays Q, you have K6xx, do not cover 
 

Dummy: QJT8x 

Lead: 7     You: K6xx 

Declarer: (A9 or A9x)   

 

 By not covering a trump lead, you may be able to overruff the dummy later 

 

o Bidding is 1S – 2S – 4S (showing Spades & hearts only) 

 

 S J95  H xx     

Lead: S 7     S Q84  H 74    You: Play small 

S AKT63   H AKx 

Note: Declarer needs to ruff 3rd heart 

 

Guideline: Cover an honour with an honour 

 Do not cover an honour with an honour when it has no chance of promoting a trick for your 

side 

 Dummy has JT98, leads the J. You have Kxxx, do not cover. If declarer has AQx or AQ, your 

King will eventually be the high card in the suit. If partner has one of A or Q, they can win trick. 

 Declarer has opened a spade and leads the J from dummy,  

Dummy: S Jxxx 

       S Q53   ---> You: play low smoothly 

Declarer: S AK9xx 

Partner has at most one spade, hence nothing to promote. If you can anticipate the lead of 

the J, you will play smoothly better       Please turn over 



 

 Declarer has QJ9, you have Kxx. Declarer leads the Q. If you cover with the King, declarer wins 

the A and then finesses your partner’s T on the way back. However, if you cover the 2nd 

honour, you hold declarer to two tricks 

Guideline: 2nd hand Low 

 Not when declarer is stealing a Q trick.  Dummy has Qx, you have Kxx before the dummy. 

Declarer leads low from hand. If you play low, declarer wins the Q and has no loser in the suit 

 

 Not if rising with a winner allows partner’s suit to be set up in NT 

 

Guideline: Follow with lowest of touching honours 

 Not when you have a very solid sequence. Play the highest one on first lead of the suit 

 

Dummy: xxx  -- low card led from dummy 

Partner: Ax    You: QJT9x   --> play the Q 

   Declarer: Kxx 

o Why  a Q on the first trick? You must have a solid sequence from Q down.  Now if 

declarer plays the K, partner will know to take her Ace, not consider ducking and know 

that playing another one to you is a good or at least a safe play 

Encourage with a high spot 

 Not if you would prefer a shift to a different suit 

 Partner leads A from AKxx, and you have Q83. Book play is encourage with the 8. But you have 

AQT of another suit behind dummy’s KJx.    

 

 

 

What a game!! 
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